Page 1 of 1

How to have multiple log/trace files?

Posted: 18 Oct 2022, 16:28
by dalquijada23
Is it possible to have multiple trace files in a client app?

For example: one for regular data/info trace entry logs and a second file only for error trace entry logs.

I know that when loading TraceSettings for ApplicationSettings we can define a TraceFile and TraceModules but i want to know if we can have multiple TraceFiles with specific TraceModules for each one.

Re: How to have multiple log/trace files?

Posted: 19 Oct 2022, 08:19
by Support Team
Hello,

you can only create one trace file. Generating multiple trace files with different TraceLevels is not supported.

However you can create a trace file filter it for the trace file manually.

Re: How to have multiple log/trace files?

Posted: 19 Oct 2022, 21:54
by dalquijada23
Hello, thanks for the quick reply.

But sorry, i don't think i understood that last part. Could you explain it a bit more?

Re: How to have multiple log/trace files?

Posted: 20 Oct 2022, 09:05
by Support Team
Hi,

the trace file contains lot of information and (in most cases) you need the time based sequence of operations to analyze what happened in the server. However the trace contains "TraceLevel" and "ThreadID" and (in theory) you could write yourself a filter (RegEx) to post-process on the trace file.

E.g.: grep all lines where trace level is "6" and pipe to new file.