Identify if OPC-UA server was rebooted

Questions regarding the use of the .NET SDK 2.0 for Server or Client development or integration into customer products ...

Moderator: uasdknet

jramirez-jh

Identify if OPC-UA server was rebooted

Post by jramirez-jh »

Hello,

I'm looking for a way to identify from my Client if the target (connected) OPC-UA server was rebooted. I'm pretty new to the SDK so I'm unsure if this is something possible or not, because I understand it can be a very tricky scenario, for example if the reboot was not planned like when the physical machine where the server is running on was rebooted or a power outage occured.

In a more common scenario I think I can listen to the UnifiedAutomation.UaClient.Session.ConnectionStatusUpdate event, but I want to be sure if there is another way to try to identify this, for example, the OPC-UA Server SDK saves the last start-up time? or the time elapsed since the last successful start-up? That info (if available) could help to do a rough estimate about when happened the last reboot.

Regards

Support Team

Re: Identify if OPC-UA server was rebooted

Post by Support Team »

Hi,

every OPC UA Server has a Node "StartTime" in it's address space. You could read out directly after being connected and check after reconnect. If StarTime is "unchanged", it was (oviously) just a network interuption that caused the reconnect, but if StarTime is different this would indicate that the server was shutdown and completely restarted. Furthermore the Node "ServerStatus" can give you information about the shutdown reason.
Best regards
Unified Automation Support Team

jramirez-jh

Post by jramirez-jh »

Support Team wrote:
15 Jun 2021, 09:04
Hi,