UaGateway - function to test connection

Suggestions for new features in our products, improvements and requirements ...

Moderator: Support Team

Post Reply
jonathang
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 29
Joined: 02 Nov 2015, 19:07

UaGateway - function to test connection

Post by jonathang »

Dear Support Team,

We would like to request a new feature in UaGateway to allow the user to test the configured connection to a DA or UA Server.
For example, there could be a Test button in the UA Server Configuration pop-up that connects to the remove UA server using the provided settings and lets the end-user know if the connection worked.


Sincerely,

Jonathan

User avatar
Support Team
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 2519
Joined: 18 Mar 2011, 15:09

Re: UaGateway - function to test connection

Post by Support Team »

Dear Jonathan,

actually there is something similar that might help. After having configured the connection to an underlying Server the UaGateway immediately trys to connect it. In the Configuration Tool you can see the list of all e.g. "DA-Servers" you have configured and in the column "status" you can see the connection status which is either "connected" or it shows "trying reconnect" (which means UaGateway is not connected).
Best regards
Unified Automation Support Team

jonathang
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 29
Joined: 02 Nov 2015, 19:07

Re: UaGateway - function to test connection

Post by jonathang »

Dear Support Team,

Thank you very much for your reply.

We are using an OEM-version of the UaGateway that does not have the Configuration Tool. Only the Administration Tool.
It would be great to have that ability through the Administration Tool or an indicator of connection in the Notification Area Icon.


Sincerely,

Jonathan

User avatar
Support Team
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 2519
Joined: 18 Mar 2011, 15:09

Re: UaGateway - function to test connection

Post by Support Team »

Dear Jonathan,

The information is always available throught the OPC UA Server of UaGateway. The administration tool is not an OPC UA client at the moment.
The OPC UA server has a status variable per connection but also an Alarm Object for each connection. Therefore the status can be easily monitored with any OPC UA client.

Is your request to get a kind of "error" indication in the systray icon and details in the administration tool?
Best regards
Unified Automation Support Team

jonathang
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 29
Joined: 02 Nov 2015, 19:07

Re: UaGateway - function to test connection

Post by jonathang »

Dear Support Team,

Thank you very much for your reply.

Any indication of the connection state would be good especially during the initial setup phase before the tags are read in the SCADA HMI.
System Tray icon would be a good place.


Sincerely,

Jonathan

Post Reply