UaGateway in a virtual machine?

Questions regarding installing, running and configuring UaGateway.

Moderator: uagateway

Post Reply
nikolayc
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Jun 2018, 08:18

UaGateway in a virtual machine?

Post by nikolayc »

Hello!

Is the UaGateway able to communicate with an OPC DA server when the gateway and the server are located in different virtual machines (vmware) on the same physical server?
In case additional information is need to answer this question, I would be happy to fill in with more details.

best, Nikolay

User avatar
Support Team
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 2522
Joined: 18 Mar 2011, 15:09

Re: UaGateway in a virtual machine?

Post by Support Team »

Hello Nikolay,

UaGateway is limited to local COM conenctions.
See:
http://documentation.unified-automation ... onnections

There is not really a technical limit built into UaGateway that would prevent you from using remote DCOM but we just do not support that feature.
Best regards
Unified Automation Support Team

nikolayc
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 11 Jun 2018, 08:18

Re: UaGateway in a virtual machine?

Post by nikolayc »

Thanks for the reply!
I played with the evaluation version last week. The gateway managed to connect remotely from one virtual machine to another virtual machine and could read from a test OPC-DA server.

Is there some reason why the remote feature is not officially supported? Would there be some expected instabilities in case we use a remote set-up for a project?

best, Nikolay

User avatar
Support Team
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 2522
Joined: 18 Mar 2011, 15:09

Re: UaGateway in a virtual machine?

Post by Support Team »

Hello Nikolay,

there is a difference between "make it work" and "make it right".
1) you probably cloned your VMs (same Windows version, same users, same credentials, same domain)
2) you probably used local admin accounts and gave remote access permission to everyone
3) you probably opened the restricted "service" account for remote access
4) you probably opened the underlying DA Servers credentials for everyone remote access
5) you probably opened / disabled the firewall for DCOM connections
>> so yes, you can make it work !

However, we do not recommend to run production machine like this, and we do not test such configuration, because in our view it makes no sense to configure "fully open DCOM access to the machine", especialy not if you have OPC UA with all security features at hand (encryption, authentication, firewall friendly) .

Therefore there is a simple rule: use OPC UA for remote connections, and use OPC COM (DA) for local connections only.
Best regards
Unified Automation Support Team

Post Reply