Typeconversion between Standardtypes and UATypes

Questions regarding the use of the C++ SDK for Server or Client development or integration into customer products ...

Moderator: uasdkcpp

AnyOne

Typeconversion between Standardtypes and UATypes

Post by AnyOne »

Dear Support,

I am fairly new to OPC UA and not very experienced in c++ either.
Yet, I am trying to write a function that takes a couple of input arguments and return the corresponding node by NodeID.

Code: Select all

bool readFloat(char nodeId, int nameSpace) 
As I understand in order to read this node I have to put it into an array of "nodesToRead" and get the corresponding value - assuming the Node exists.

Hence I wanted to do

UaNodeId(nodeId, nameSpace).copyTo(&nodesToRead[i].NodeId)
Now the question that keeps bugging me for quite some hours is:
How can I convert standardtypes into UaTypes?
I tried stuff like

OpcUa_Int16 ns = setInt16(nameSpace);
UaString node = nodeId.toOpcUaString();
But as you can guess, neither worked and the doc didn't really help me any further, all I found was how to do it the other way round...

I'd really appreciate your help!

Support Team

Re: Typeconversion between Standardtypes and UATypes

Post by Support Team »

Hi

There are several constructors in the UaNodeId class which allow to simply create different kind of NodeIds.
See http://doc.unifiedautomation.com/uasdkc ... odeId.html

Here are a few examples:

UaNodeId FolderNodeId(OpcUaId_FolderType); // create a numeric nodeid based on the given define in namespace 0 (opcua namespace)
UaNodeId CustomNumericNodeId(17, 2); // creates a numeric nodeid in namespace 2
UANodeId StringNodeId(UaString("Foo"), 3); // creates string nodeid in namespace 3
// convert a NodeId into a String for storage
UaString sNodeId = AnyNodeId.toXmlString();
printf("%s\n", sNodeId.toUtf8());
// parse such an XML string when loading a configuration
UaNodeId id = UaNodeId::fromXmlString(sNodeId);