Atvise OPCUA client, alarms from Niagara OPCUA server

General topics regarding OPC Foundation and communication technology in general.

Moderator: Support Team

Post Reply
geirskjong
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Feb 2020, 13:29

Atvise OPCUA client, alarms from Niagara OPCUA server

Post by geirskjong »

Hi

We use atvise scada which is certitied by OPC foundation. We are having problems with getting OPCUA alarms from Niagara software running OPCUA server. The alarmclass is set up as opcua alarmclass.
We get the descriptions of alarmclass, for example value threshold exceeded on a value, but not the value true/false.

Anyone with similiar experiences? Any ideas?

Thanks in advance

Best regards
Geir EL24

rboehler
Full Member
Full Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Jul 2018, 07:40

Re: Atvise OPCUA client, alarms from Niagara OPCUA server

Post by rboehler »

hi
do you become the event with the UA Expert ?
when yes, you can see the item Id in the event view,
and you can see the class deep,
habe you set up a user and pw and activate the security user control on atvise ?
what ist the niagara software ?
can you tell me the link and description of niagara ?

ev i can help

greetings

User avatar
Support Team
Hero Member
Hero Member
Posts: 3040
Joined: 18 Mar 2011, 15:09

Re: Atvise OPCUA client, alarms from Niagara OPCUA server

Post by Support Team »

Hi,

if you think that an "alarm" has something to do with a value that turns from "false" to "true", you are most probably not looking at an alarm at all. It is most probably just a boolean variable with a value, but not an alarm.

An alarm/event object must have "EventNotifier" attribute being set to "SubscribeToEvents", furthermore they typically live underneeth the "Server" object in the browse tree (building up an event hierachy). You can subscribe to events with UaExpert "Event-View" Plugin (not DataAccess-View). Menuebar->Document->Add...->DocumentType->Event View (if you can not drop node into EventView, it is not an event).
Best regards
Unified Automation Support Team

laxer
Jr. Member
Jr. Member
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Nov 2023, 14:29

Re: Atvise OPCUA client, alarms from Niagara OPCUA server

Post by laxer »

Dealing with atvise SCADA and OPCUA alarms from Niagara software can be a bit of a puzzle. It seems like you're getting descriptions of the alarm classes but facing issues with retrieving the actual true/false values associated with the alarms, like 'value threshold exceeded.'

While I haven't encountered this exact issue, troubleshooting OPCUA alarms often involves checking the configurations and ensuring proper mappings between the software systems. Have you examined the settings related to OPCUA alarm configurations thoroughly? Sometimes, discrepancies in settings or mappings can cause such issues.

Consider reaching out to forums or support communities dedicated to atvise SCADA or OPCUA, where folks might have faced similar challenges and could offer insights or solutions. Collaboration and shared experiences often lead to effective troubleshooting.

Post Reply